APOLLO people

We are talent-focussed. At Apollo, we believe talented and experienced professionals, alongside an entrepreneurial and proactive approach, can encourage empowered underwriting.

CEO

At Apollo we’re proud to provide an extensive set of solutions to clients’ insurance needs across our wide range of classes. Underpinning this is our experienced team who offer the reassurance that we can deliver on our Underwriting promise.

David Ibeson

Chief Executive Officer
+44 (0)20 3169 1965
T:
david.ibeson@apollounderwriting.com
E:

UNDERWRITERS

Nick Jones BSc (Hons), ACII

Active Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1971
T:
nick.jones@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Andrew Rowland BA (Hons), ACII

Head of Property
+44 (0)20 3169 1973
T:
andrew.rowland@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Richard Hardcastle BA (Hons)

Senior Property Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1980
T:
richard.hardcastle@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Laura-Jayne Hamblin HNDip

Property Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1984
T:
laurajayne.hamblin@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Neil Peckham

Senior Underwriter, Property Binding Authorities
+44 (0)20 3169 1966
T:
neil.peckham@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Neil Davidson Bsc (Hons), Cert CII

Assistant Underwriter, Property
+44 (0)20 3169 1998
T:
neil.davidson@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Chris King BA (Hons)

Head of Crisis Management
+44 (0)20 3169 1941
T:
chris.king@apollounderwriting.com
E:

William Steeds

Senior Underwriter, Political Risk
+44 (0)20 3169 1961
T:
william.steeds@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Sophie Mundin BSc (Hons) Dip CII

Assistant Underwriter, Crisis Management
+44 (0)20 3169 1990
T:
sophie.mundin@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Howard Burnell

Head of Marine & Energy Liability
+44(0)20 3169 1957
T:
howard.burnell@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Katie Bridges BA, Cert CII

Underwriting Assistant, Hull & Energy Liability
+44(0)20 3169 1954
T:
katie.bridges@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Mark Phythian

Marine and Energy Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1875
T:
mark.phythian@apollounderwriting.com
E:

James Braddock ACII

Head of Treaty (1969)
+44 (0)20 3169 1945
T:
james.braddock@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Chris Terry BA (Hons), ACII

Deputy Class Underwriter, Cargo & Specie
+44 (0)20 3169 1986
T:
chris.terry@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Ian Morton

Deputy Head of Cargo & Specie
+44 (0)20 3169 1974
T:
ian.morton@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Harriet Marsh LLB (Hons), Dip CII

Assistant Underwriter, Cargo & Specie
+44 (0)20 3169 1916
T:
harriet.marsh@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Matthew Newman BSc (Hons), ACII

Head of Casualty
+44 (0)20 3169 1950
T:
matthew.newman@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Chris Moore BSc (Hons), FCII, CRIS

Deputy Head of Casualty
: +44 (0)20 3169 1949
T:
chris.moore@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Nic Wood BA (Hons)

Head of US Casualty
+44 (0)20 3169 1898
T:
nic.wood@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Charles Harcus

Head of International Casualty
+44 (0)20 3169 1993
T:
charles.harcus@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Simon Green BA (Hons)

Liability Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1994
T:
simon.green@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Nick Gibbs BA (Hons), ACII

Senior ibott Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1995
T:
nicholas.gibbs@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Laurence Burrows

Liability Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1956
T:
laurence.burrows@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Louise Jones BA (Hons), Cert CII

US Casualty Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1943
T:
louise.jones@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Paul Chesworth BSc (Hons), ACII

International Casualty Underwriter
+44 (0)20 3169 1878
T:
paul.chesworth@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Alex Fitzpatrick

Assistant Underwriter, Liability
+44 (0)20 3169 1897
T:
alex.fitzpatrick@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Jack Wood

Underwriting Assistant, Liability
+44 (0)20 3169 1946
T:
jack.wood@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Sophie Elwood

Underwriting Assistant, Liability
+44 (0)20 3169 1937
T:
sophie.elwood@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Becky Stoffell

PA to Head of Casualty
+44 (0)20 3169 1953
T:
becky.stoffell@apollounderwriting.com
E:

David Page

Head of Product Recall
+44 (0)20 3169 1964
T:
david.page@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Marcus Hawkes

Assistant Underwriter, Product Recall
+44 (0)20 3169 1885
T:
marcus.hawkes@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Simon Mason MBA ACII

Head of Energy
+44 (0)20 3169 1920
T:
simon.mason@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Matt Stubbings FCII

Deputy Head of Energy
+44 (0)20 3169 1906
T:
matt.stubbings@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Jasper Darrington

Underwriting Assistant
+44 (0)20 3169 1889
T:
jasper.darrington@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Paul Letherbarrow ACII

Head of Aviation
+44 (0)20 3169 1921
T:
paul.letherbarrow@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Lee Dunne ACII

Deputy Head of Aviation
+44 (0)20 3169 1922
T:
lee.dunne@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Tom Hinkin MEng, ARAeS, Dip CII

Assistant Underwriter, Aviation
+44 (0)20 3169 1958
T:
tom.hinkin@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Nick Burkinshaw

Chief Underwriting Officer
+44 (0)20 3169 1985
T:
nick.burkinshaw@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Claims

Simon White Dip CII, ACIArb, Cert MII
Director of Claims
+44 (0)20 3169 1935
T:
simon.white@apollounderwriting.com
E:
Gary Watson Dip CII, ACIArb
Claims Manager
+44 (0)20 3169 1976
T:
gary.watson@apollounderwriting.com
E:
Simon Melaniphy
Senior Claims Handler
+44 (0)20 3169 1981
T:
simon.melaniphy@apollounderwriting.com
E:
Stephanie Belcourt LLB (Hons), LLM, ACII
Senior Claims Handler
+44 (0)20 3169 1936
T:
stephanie.belcourt@apollounderwriting.com
E:
Ian Beckett BA (Hons), Dip CII
Senior Claims Handler
+44 (0)20 3169 1900
T:
ian.beckett@apollounderwriting.com
E:
Helen Brokenshire BA (Hons), Cert CII
Claims Handler
+44 (0)20 3169 1991
T:
helen.brokenshire@apollounderwriting.com
E:
Jack Botley Cert CII
Claims Technician
+44 (0)20 3169 1927
T:
jack.botley@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Reinsurance

The Outwards Reinsurance Team supports the purchase of our protections, searches out new products and makes collections on our behalf, protecting our balance sheet and our Underwriting Teams.

Stephen Davenport

Senior Reinsurance Technician
+44 (0)20 3169 1902
T:
stephen.davenport@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Michael Kelly

Reinsurance Technician
+44 (0)20 3169 1895
T:
michael.kelly@apollounderwriting.com
E:

OPERATIONS & IT

The support and day-to-day operations of our business is as important as writing the risks and paying claims.

The wide range of experience our team has means we can service our business from a technical standpoint, and in the most efficient way we can find. Always being mindful of our compliance responsibilities.

Laura Freeman

Exposure Management Operations Manager
+44 (0)20 3169 1978
T:
laura.freeman@apollounderwriting.com
E:

James Hockley

Exposure Management Analyst
+44 (0)20 3169 1996
T:
james.hockley@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Chris Abplanalp Cert CII

Underwriting Operations Assistant, Liability
+44 (0)20 3169 1896
T:
chris.abplanalp@apolloundewriting.com
E:

Will Phillips

Underwriting Operations Assistant
+44 (0)20 3169 1969
T:
will.phillips@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Gemma Lilley

Underwriting Operations Assistant
+44 (0)20 3169 1969
T:
gemma.lilley@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Andrew Lindsay

Head of Business Intelligence
+44 (0)20 3169 1905
T:
andrew.lindsay@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Eleana Sklaveniti BSc (hons)

MI Developer
+44 (0)20 3169 1969
T:
eleana.sklaveniti@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Will Etherton

Syndicate Data Manager
+44 (0)20 3169 1890
T:
will.etherton@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Steve Coldwell BSc (Hons)

Head of IT
+44 (0)20 3169 1910
T:
steve.coldwell@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Afzal Chowdhury

Business Systems Analyst
+44 (0)20 3169 1952
T:
afzal.chowdhury@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Paul Glean ACII, DMS

Head of Delegated Facilities
+44 (0)20 3169 1963
T:
paul.glean@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Kate Eyton BA (Hons), Cert CII

Senior Delegated Facilities Technician
+44 (0)20 3169 1908
T:
kate.eyton@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Garry Evans BA (Hons)

Delegated Facilities Technician
+44 (0)20 3169 1888
T:
garry.evans@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Damian Kelly BBS, Cert CII

Delegated Facilities Technician
+44 (0)20 3169 1876
T:
damian.kelly@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Actuarial & Risk

At Apollo we’re proud to provide an extensive set of solutions to clients’ insurance needs across our wide range of classes. Underpinning this is our experienced team who offer the reassurance that we can deliver on our Underwriting promise.

The support and day-to-day operations of our business is as important as writing the risks and paying claims. The wide range of experience our team has means we can service our business from a technical standpoint, and in the most efficient way we can find. Always being mindful of our compliance responsibilities.

Drawing upon decades of experience of support to insurance businesses, our Actuarial and Risk functions provide us with analytical detail in a clear and concise manner enabling us to perform with more efficiency. 

We’re constantly looking for ways to streamline this to add to our efficiency. We’re always open to discussing with people keen to join us to be part of this drive.

Phil Ellis MA, FIA, ACII

Chief Risk Officer
+44 (0)20 3169 1903
T:
phil.ellis@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Michael McCarter BSc, FIA

Head of Capital Modelling
+44 (0)20 3169 1880
T:
michael.mccarter@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Jayesh Mistry FIA

Head of Pricing
+44 (0)20 3169 1951
T:
jayesh.mistry@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Chris Littlefair BSc, FIA

Head of Reserving and Analytics
+44 (0)20 3169 1979
T:
chris.littlefair@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Daniel Jovic

Capital Modelling Analyst
+44 (0)20 3169 1969
T:
daniel.jovic@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Alpesh Chudasama FIA

Pricing Actuary
+44 (0)20 3169 1879
T:
alpesh.chudasama@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Otto Beyer MSc, FIA

ibott Actuary
+44 (0)20 3169 1892
T:
otto.beyer@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Lorna Mckinnon BA (Cantab)

Actuarial Analyst
+44 (0)20 3169 1938
T:
lorna.mckinnon@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Cameron Thompson BSc (Hons)

Actuarial Analyst
+44 (0)20 3169 1947
T:
cameron.thompson@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Finance

Using financial planning and insurance related experience our Finance function provides us with the real time data and projections to enable the Syndicate to support our customers.

Daniel Steel

Financial Planning and Analysis Manager
+44 (0)20 3169 1931
T:
daniel.steel@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Tania Green ACMA

Finance Manager, Corporate Accounts
+44 (0)20 3169 1923
T:
tania.green@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Pukalini Indradas

Accountant, Corporate Accounts
+44 (0)20 3169 1925
T:
pukalini.indradas@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Ben Alexander

Syndicate Finance Manager
+44 (0)20 3169 1977
T:
ben.alexander@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Rachel Smith

Accounts Payable Administrator
+44 (0)20 3169 1967
T:
rachel.smith@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Marie Wenn

Syndicate Financial Accountant
+44 (0)20 3169 1944
T:
marie.wenn@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Helena Whyman

Syndicate Accounts Assistant
+44 (0)20 3169 1988
T:
helena.whyman@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Compliance

We truly understand the importance of good Governance and disciplined actions. It’s the foundation of a well-run and regulated business, so our Compliance Team rank among the best in London.

Andrew Gray ACII

Head of Compliance
+44 (0)20 3169 1970
T:
andrew.gray@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Peter Bowden ACII

Deputy Head of Compliance
+44 (0)20 3169 1975
T:
peter.bowden@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Joanne Ball

Assistant Compliance Officer
+44 (0)20 3169 1909
T:
joanne.ball@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Human Resources

We appreciate our staff and providing top quality training opportunities and pastoral support to everyone in our team is paramount.

Sally Peace  BSc (Hons), ACII, Assoc.CIPD

Sally Peace BSc (Hons), ACII, Assoc.CIPD

Head of Human Resources
+44 (0)20 3169 1959
T:
sally.peace@apollounderwrtting.com
E:
Emma Dawson Assoc. CIPD

Emma Dawson Assoc. CIPD

Executive Assistant
+44 (0)20 3169 1982
T:
emma.dawson@apollounderwrtting.com
E:
Amy Bumstead  BA (Hons)

Amy Bumstead BA (Hons)

HR Advisor
+44(0)20 3169 1999
T:
amy.bumstead@apollounderwriting.com
E:

Reception

Each of our visitors receives a warm welcome to our offices, whether they are a current client or a prospective one. We want to show we care about everyone who takes the time to come and see us, and we do.

Address